ashtonjay Publish time 2-12-2019 04:35:54

PLEX PLAYBACK HELP NEEDED PLEASE

So i sat down to watch a movie last night and it kept buffering and displaying a message saying words to the effect of

"server isnt fast enough to stream"

i have a new terra master f210 nas with 4x4tb WD Red drives and i doubled the memory on it too

its been ok for weeks to be honest so not too surer as to why its started now

also im on Virmin medias 500 mb speed and am plugged straight into the router via cat 6 cable too

is there maybe an issue with the file compatability?

i download and drag everythig to the nas maybe some files need transcoding? if so what is the best most reliable format and what software would i use to convert them

a lot of questrions i know but im just trying to make sense of it all

bubblegum57 Publish time 2-12-2019 04:35:55

i posted this where you first asked.

I am using a Shield as a server. Play the movie, go to settings & change the bit rate?

Somewhere in settings, I think there is a setting, to direct play. But I can't remember.

I am surprised it won't play. I was interested in the Terramaster nas's

Another option is from plex webpage settings, manage, optimised versions, & optimise the movie. This might take a couple hours.

I assume the nas is the server, are you using a different device as the client?

Lleyton Publish time 2-12-2019 04:35:56

What are the specs of the movie you had trouble with playback?

What device are you using to playback your files on?

Sounds like Plex is transcoding the file, this could be due to incompatible codec, audio or bitrate is too high for your device. The error you listed above would suggest your NAS is struggling to transcode the file.

The key is to try and get all files to play without transcoding (direct play)