View: 792|Reply: 25

My search for the elusive perfect combined Sat Nav/Dash Cam

[Copy link]

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
24-11-2019 23:30:32 Mobile | Show all posts |Read mode
As my background is in IT I do wonder why there are still two devices performing these tasks rather then a single combined device.....

I use Waze on a Sammie Tablet as my Satnav, I also own a number of Yi 4K Action Cams (Yi also produce a Dash Cam but it's without a GPS or 'absent monitoring' facility), the Yi 4K Action Camera does have a small screen on the back and does respond (variably) to voice commands.

Now, while I appreciate that temperature range and specifically heat generation is an issue for small devices it cannot be that far a leap to bring out a Small Tablet (7-9 inches) that combines the functionality of both devices, after all this isn't rocket science.

So, the (for me) perfect combined device would include.....

Waze (or similar) free satnav capability.
As close as possible to 4K 60FPS Dash Cam
Front and rear cameras so it you mount if centre dash you can record anything hitting you in the back
GPS built in and recorded (obviously needs GPS for Waze but would like the GPS location overlaid onto the recorded pictures).
Split screen facility so you can see sat nav and dash cam views at same time if required.
Time/Date - see GPS immediately above
Impact detector autosave in case of accident
Bluetooth and WiFi so you can monitor from another device if required (standard on Yi Cameras)
Absent recording facility, so if you're parked up the unit can continue to record at a lower level say 1080p 30FPS in case some tw*t hits you
Ability to save trips to app for analysis later - reports could be autogenerated
Ability to save Petrol fillup amounts for analysis later
Ability to incorporate 'safe driving' facilities which record how you drive for you to analyse later
Discrete casing so it doesn't attract every thief in town

Anything I've forgotten?

Use magic Report