View: 364|Reply: 6

Drumming advice needed.

[Copy link]

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
25-11-2019 21:12:20 Mobile | Show all posts |Read mode
I have always wanted to learn to play the drums. However life just got in the way.
Now, I have a little  time and I would like to make a  start.

Here's the thing .............What i know about music fits on the back of a stamp.
I know absolutely nothing. In fact I don't know that much. Im going to need someone with patience and determination.

Recommendations very welcome, from where to go for lessons / guidance  to forget it you are too old ( 53 ) no one is going to want to be seen out with you.

I am based in Sevenoaks in Kent and travel to London daily for work so anywhere near either or in between would obv be more suitable but willing to travel within reason.

Thanks.

Use magic Report

25-11-2019 21:12:21 Mobile | Show all posts
I’m a guitarist but both my daughters started drums back in the summer and I chat to a couple of the mums who take lessons along with their kids. My eldest (12) already did her first few shows with her band.

First thing is to decide what drum kit you need. This is dictated by where you live a bit if noise is going to be an issue, if it is get an electronic kit a decent used kit is around 200 quid. The advantage of electronic is obviously that you can play with phones or speakers at the volume you want. They also take up less space and you can fold them away. Playing on an electronic kit is not the same and my kids wanted acoustic drums, but I certainly didn’t feel the kit was holding them back. There is a lot to be said though for the feel you get from a real kit and if you are having lessons switching back will always feel like a step back.