Help needed with Micro Korg MIDI IN Logic X

[Copy link]

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
25-11-2019 21:13:48 Mobile | Show all posts |Read mode
Hello all.

I have been recording with Logic for around 6 years, first with LP9 & for the past few years LPX. I have no problems recording using my nektar MIDI controller keyboard but I want more flexibility so I purchased a Micro Korg synth. Now I can record audio into logic x using my Korg by having TSR cables plugged from my Korg into inputs 3 & 4 in my Focusrite Saffire Pro 24, but my problem is MIDI. I have have also connected my micro Korg into my Saffire Pro 24 with 2 MIDI din cables, out from the saffire to in on the korg, and out from the Korg to in on the saffire. I want to be able to use Logic's midi clock so I can auto time match arpeggios from my Korg into Logic. I can set up a MIDI track in Logic and record but I have to have my Micro Korg turned on with the volume up to be able to hear the playback of what I've recorded.Kinda defeats the purpose of recording. I can set up an audio input and record my korg as audio but as it's not MIDI I cannot quantize, adjust the attack & edit as well as I could if it was MIDI.
So my first question is...Can I record in Logic X from my Korg using MIDI only and just like I can using my controller keyboard using Logic's built in synths, rather than recording audio? If so how?
My second question is....How do I get Logic to recognize my Korg in my Macs MIDI as I cannot find it in the MIDI settings in my Mac running OS Sierra?

As you can see I'm not used to using an external synth in Logic so I'm really starting all over again.

Thanks.

Use magic Report

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
25-11-2019 21:13:49 Mobile | Show all posts