View: 387|Reply: 6

New Stage Piano & a song

[Copy link]

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
25-11-2019 21:23:26 Mobile | Show all posts |Read mode
I'm sure some of the members knows my daughter since she was 6 years old!

Recently Roland sponsored her and offered RD800 to use for small concerts etc. Here is a recording we did 2 days ago at home. By any means I'm still a newbie in recording etc, so kindly forgive if the recording is sounding right.

This is a Cover of See You Again - Wiz Khalifa , but inspired by the demo version produced by Charlie Puth

Bits used: Roland RD800, Shure SM7B, Zoom H6

Use magic Report

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
25-11-2019 21:23:27 Mobile | Show all posts
Beautiful.

You must be one very proud Dad Sunil.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
25-11-2019 21:23:28 Mobile | Show all posts
Love it !  She has a lovely vibrato.  

Re the recording... and take this all with a pinch of salt because its a nice recording.

1) it's a very nice reverb (in fact I'm curious what you've used ??) but a little bit too wet for my tastes.   Experiment with delay settings rather than a global reverb, as I think a well judged delay setting (perhaps triggered with automation at the end of a phrase), can sound cleaner and less 'soaked' in reverb.

2) I have the SM7B microphone, and it's brilliant.  Good choice to retain the warmth of the voice.
However, it actually sounds even better without the foam windshield.  Try using a regular pop filter instead.  There are a couple of 'pops' in the recording which could've been avoided with this method too.

3) If you fancy being adventurous, have a go a mid-side stereo recording. The science behind this technique sounds complicated, but in practice its not really.
The beauty of this technique is that if you want to go back to the regular mono recording you can, and it gives you the ability to fine tune the 'width' of the recording in post.