12Next
Back New
View: 622|Reply: 19

Outdoor Swimming pool, looking for heating adivce?

[Copy link]
26-11-2019 04:11:38 Mobile | Show all posts |Read mode
Not sure where to post this so if MODs feel it would be better elsewhere then please move.

So I've had a above ground pool (plastica) pool for 9 years now and its been heated off a 3kw electric heater that does the job fine heating it to 30deg. However with the cost of electric going up and up I'm looking to reduce this cost. I've been looking at solar heating (hose pipe type) as I have a large flat roof that gets the sun most of the day and would be ideal for solar panels. Think this along with my electric heater would reduce my cost, but I have no experience with solar heating?. The other thing is to get a heat pump now they seem to be getting cheaper (less than £1000) but again I've no idea if at this price point they are any good?
The pool is only use from mid May to Mid September.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Many thanks,
TR.

Use magic Report

26-11-2019 04:11:38 Mobile | Show all posts
I know a few people round here with air heat exchangers, some dedicated to the pool, others for pool and home use.  They all seem to approve of and recommend them.  I suppose it all boils down to how much electricity you use to heat the pool.

But at the moment, those people with no heating still have pools which are pushing 30C and they are complaining that that is too warm.  (The third day in a row here that we have had 35C in the shade)
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

26-11-2019 04:11:39 Mobile | Show all posts
How big is your garden mate? You could think about ground source too. Heat your home with it too and the government pay you. Check out renewable heat incentives!! Ice energy are a good company.

Use magic Report

Author| 26-11-2019 04:11:40 Mobile | Show all posts