12Next
Back New
View: 683|Reply: 15

Stereo set for music / movies (HDMI and room correction would be nice)

[Copy link]

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
28-11-2019 01:26:21 Mobile | Show all posts |Read mode
Some history
As a student I bought my first 'serious' hifi stereo. Obviously I was a bit budget constrained but the stereo set has served me well and I've been happy with it.

My student setup:
Marantz PM7200 amplifier (2 x 95 Watts into 8 ohm)
Marantz CD7300 CD player
2x Dali Suite 1.7 (a local special edition in which they upgraded the internal wiring and speaker terminals)
Added a  bit later: Pro-ject Debut Carbon record player

In time the lack of digital inputs became a real bother and I made a side-step by replacing the Marantz amplifier by a Marantz AVR.

Marantz PM7200 -> Marantz SR6008 (specced at 2x 110W @ 8 Ohm)

I play most of my music nowadays through my mediaplayer (Nvidia Shield TV) and the occasional LP. After upgrading my TV to a 4k OLED (LG 7C) I had some issues with the HDMI switching when playing 4k content (flickering). Now I use the amplifier through HDMI ARC and connect my HDMI devices to the TV (game console   Shield TV).

The system is getting a bit long in the tooth - my speakers are dented and chipped after moving some times, and I kind of hate what the switch to the AVR did to the quality of my music. On the other hand I'm a pragmatic person that just wants his audio to work. Time for an upgrade indeed..

Current Setup   
Amp:      Marantz SR6008
Sources: LG OLED C7V 55 inch TV (HDMI)
              NVIDIA Shield TV @ Spotify (HDMI to TV, then HDMI ARC to amp)
              A game console - currently a Nintendo Switch (HDMI to TV, then HDMI ARC to amp)
              Pro-ject Debut Carbon record player
Speaker: 2x Dali Suite 1.7 Special edition

Upgrade wishlist
I want to get a good stereo setup that will mostly be used for music, but should also work for watching movies/series/playing video games.