Question on AMD intergrated and Dedicated GPU ASUS K550IU

[Copy link]

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
2-12-2019 03:09:34 Mobile | Show all posts |Read mode
Hi all,

please bare with me this is my first post, unsure if this is in the right place, and im new to the whole Gaming PC kinda thing, but i purchased a ASUS K550IU Laptop, came with AMD FX-9830P Processor and AMD Radeon RX460 4GB Dedicated 'Gaming' Graphics Card, AMD R7 onboard 'browsing' graphics

I bought it mainly for watching videos and light gaming, the gaming it does pretty well, playing rocket league, However when watching Videos online, youtube or streaming movies it still seems like it int using the Dedicated GPU and giving me low quality still. iv done abit of reading and understand there should be switchable graphics and it will automatically use the dedicated graphics when needed and your meant to be able to specify this in the AMD control panel

However as i am watching videos via Google Chrome, it is locked to the Integrated graphics and wont let me change this, has anyone come across a way of either disabling the integrated or forcing it to use dedicated GPU?

Any help is very much appreciated, as i say i am new to the "Performance" laptop

Many Thanks

Use magic Report

2-12-2019 03:09:35 Mobile | Show all posts
I think you may be barking up the wrong tree. Video playback is generally handling by the CPU and the dedicated video decoding circuitry (UVD). The main GPU is influential if you're applying any demanding post-processing to the video, and the video players in web browsers don't support that.

The RX 460 does have a slightly newer revision of the decoder (UVD 6.3 vs. UVD 6.0) but I wouldn't expect it to make much, if any, difference to video quality.