12Next
Back New
View: 579|Reply: 10

Home network shopping list - while the floorboards are up! Cat6/6a? Spec?

[Copy link]

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
2-12-2019 04:58:12 Mobile | Show all posts |Read mode
Hi Chaps

I'm a networking newbie here, I've been researching as much as I can at the moment but time is ticking for me and I could do with some advice if anyone can help please

We have just bought a house that needs a lot of work doing, I've pulled many floorboards up to gain access for central heating pipes etc and i'm thinking that I should run network cables whilst doing this work.

I want network access points throughout the house to hardwire computers, freesat boxes etc. The house has thick walls and tall ceilings so I anticipate wireless issues and I prefer the reliability of hardwiring too...

I have found a location in the house for a patch panel and switch, and i'm happy enough with where to run my cables. I'm just confused about what type of cable to buy as there seems to be a lot of varying opinion and there are so many types for sale! I know that I need solid core, not multistrand, non CCA, and that CAT 7 is pointless, but that doesn't narrow it down too much....

Should I use shielded cable? (some people say it's pointless in home networks?)

Cat 6 or 6a?

Can anyone recommend a decent place to buy from?

I'm just wanting to run all the cables for now, then i'll take my time connecting the patch panel and wallplates up. I just need to do my order so I can get the cables down before the boards go back down, so any help with a shopping list would be very much appreciated

This cable seems reasonable, any good for a home network?

GigaTrue® CAT6 Bulk Cable F/UTP Shielded LSZH (from Blackbox -these gigatrue cables seem to be mentioned on the forum quite a lot)

13472 - GigaTrue CAT6 LSZH F/UTP Shielded Bulk Cable

Use magic Report

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
2-12-2019 04:58:13 Mobile | Show all posts