12Next
Back New
View: 560|Reply: 10

Always on Lights

[Copy link]
2-12-2019 06:42:06 Mobile | Show all posts |Read mode
Hi all, I’m fairly new to photography.

I own a Canon EOS 200D with two speedlights and a radio trigger.

For portrait photography I always find when I’m zooming into an image in light room I have a lot of noise.

Which two always on lights would you recommend for portrait photography?

Thanks in advance for your help

Equipment list:
Canon EOS 200D
Transmitter
2 Speedlights

Use magic Report

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
2-12-2019 06:42:07 Mobile | Show all posts
Hi two speedlights should do the job without noise. Not sure that switching up always on lights is going to help.  If you post an example of one of your noisey portraits we might be able to diagnose the problem.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
2-12-2019 06:42:08 Mobile | Show all posts
"noise is often due to using too small an aperture ( to achieve greater focus-depth? ) - and too fast a shutter-speed ( to reduce shake?). With modest room lights white skin-tones should reproduce without noise, but maybe you should experiment with a grey-card, these typically reflect about 20%  ( DYOR ), giving some indication of exposure when combined with a white card and black paper/cloth.  This should represent the total tonal range without using a Model, who may become bored! ( Perish the thought ).

These days there is a wider range of lighting... For the best lighting you may go for halogen, although these will be quite hot for a clothed model. Also, the replacement bulbs are pricey, for this reason "Pro" lights are often available cheaply..... although you can get a similar effect (with care) using so-called Builder's lights, but they are only "floods", whereas Pro-style have adjustable "Flood" and also some degree of "Spot". Ideally you will have the ability to run them at reduced voltage ( Esp. if you want to move them!!!).