Workflow \ Catalogue \ Backup Problems

[Copy link]

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
2-12-2019 06:52:02 Mobile | Show all posts |Read mode
Hi everyone,

I'm a relatively new amateur photographer, who initially got into taking photos of my new twin boys; I wanted some nice photo's of them as they grew up. As I've become more proficient, I've also began doing shooting limited landscapes. Finally, I've also collected several thousand family photographs from all of my family history, and had them digitally scanned and saved on my PC.

In short, I've now got some 10,000  photographs distributed across the following platforms:
Stored only offline on my home PC, catalogued by Lightroom CC ClassicStored only online, catalogued by the new Lightroom CC (Stored in adobe cloud)Stored on my iPhone X and online by iCloudHaving had a recent data loss scare, I need to consolidate these sources into one library, and then ensure a safe backup exists. However, there's some duplication across these devices. I think, there may even be low quality versions of a photo stored in one place, and high quality versions of the same photo stored in another place.

I got into this mess through poor and inconsistent workflows, so I need to take the opportunity to review these also.

I have a windows 10 PC, an 18TB FreeNas server, a Nikon D5200, and an iPhone x, with a memory card to lightning adaptor. I also currently have a full subscription to adobe creative cloud. I'm open to changing the equipment (slightly), or changing entirely the software I use.

So, two questions:
How can I safely consolidate my libraries, minimizing the risk of duplication and without replacing high quality images with lower quality versions of the same?