Please select To the mobile version | Continue to access the desktop computer version
View: 660|Reply: 8

Hot shoe Screen?

[Copy link]
2-12-2019 07:02:03 Mobile | Show all posts |Read mode
Bit of an odd question but...

Whilst I've been shooting digital for many, many years I do still love shooting film. As well as my 5D MKIII DSLR I have a Canon 5 35mm SLR and have just started getting into medium format film as well.

Whilst in terms of image resolution there is little point in shooting medium format film as most modern DSLR's are now of a higher resolution there are still 3 things that MF does 'better'.

1. Waist level viewfinder. It does take some time to get used to but you get an angle of view that id often just more 'interesting'. There is also an added advantage, especially in street photography, in that as you are always looking down at your camera people don't think you are taking a photo of them.

2. Aspect ratio. Personally I love the 6x6 format and the 6x4.5 is also very nice in the right situation. Obviously you can crop but it's easier to view it in camera in the format you want the photo to be in. This coupled with the angle of view from a waist level viewfinder is often a very good combination.

3. Film stocks. Yes they can be emulated in Lightroom but real film still has a certain quality.

Of these 3 things, 2 of them can be recreated to a certain extent in Lightroom. A waist level viewfinder can't. This got me thinking about mounting a small screen on the hotshoe of a camera and using liveview to mimick a waist level viewfinder. The only one I've found is a Viltrox DC-50 which looks very good if perhaps a bit big. Does anyone know of a smaller one? Is there a way of mounting say an iPhone on the hotshoe and having that be a live view monitor via an app and if so how much latency is there?

Use magic Report

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
2-12-2019 07:02:04 Mobile | Show all posts