View: 1083|Reply: 16

New lens or new body?

[Copy link]

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
2-12-2019 07:02:10 Mobile | Show all posts |Read mode
I currently shoot with an old Nikon D60 body, old I know, but for the most part gives me reasonably good results teamed with my 50mm f/1.8g. I particularly enjoy using it to try and achieve shallow DOF and bokeh. However, being a cropped sensor, the narrower angle means shooting indoors can be tricky (focal length is too close so I need to stand 10ft away...not always possible).

I was looking into getting the equivalent 35mm which I thought may give more flexibility indoors?
I gather a new body with full-frame sensor would probably be wise for the future, but for now, I'm wondering if keeping the D60 with a 35mm would be the best bet?

I'm a relative newbie to photography, so forgive me if any terminology is incorrect

Use magic Report

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
2-12-2019 07:02:11 Mobile | Show all posts
...You've not said "what" you are taking...
I searched Wikipedia and found:
The Nikon D60 is a 10.2-megapixel Nikon F-mount digital single-lens reflex camera announced in January 2008. The D60 succeeds the entry-level Nikon D40x.

So I'm wondering why you are using a 50mm lens - was this off an earlier SLR, perhaps ( I have one too )... I use it with a converter on my Sony NEX5 stills camera, but my interest is in Movies, so I've fitted a continuously variable ND filter for shallow DoF and correct exposure.
However, to my disbelief the 3:1 kit-zoom is sharper and has full auto-iris control.

I guess if you are happy with the sensor, then a kit-zoom for Nikon-F  should be just over £100. This  will transform the convenience. However, for shallow DoF the 50mm lens may have the edge, but not the sharpness, even at f4.
Moving to a full-frame sensor will COST.