12Next
Back New
View: 647|Reply: 16

avios points - I am new to it

[Copy link]
2-12-2019 22:14:45 Mobile | Show all posts |Read mode
Hi All,

My wife and I have got a BA AMEX card back at the end of June/July time and we use it for everything we can with purchases online, supermarkets, car fuel, you name it, it is getting nailed for it.

We are trying to get loads of points so we can use them for a trip to Japan next year.  However it does not seem quite as straight-forward as we had hoped it would be.  We were planning on getting flights in April to Japan but when we looked at it nothing was available.

Having read some more details on how it works you need to book like 350 days in advance to get the seats.

Just wondering if anyone uses Avios and your experiences with it. Also if you have any useful tips or things to do or look out for that would also be useful.

Use magic Report

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
2-12-2019 22:14:47 Mobile | Show all posts
Just be aware that all these points for flights are worth very little. You may save a bit but you won't get a completely free flight.

For example, you have enough points for a free flight to Japan. Awesome, but that doesn't include taxes so the £500 'free' economy flight will still cost you £350.

It's all a help of course, but don't expect a massive saving.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

Author| 2-12-2019 22:14:48 Mobile | Show all posts
Thanks Greg from what we saw yesterday we had enough points to travel business or first class to Japan so the cost even if it was £500 for taxes is a decent saving on what the real cost of the seat was.

But like I said I maybe missing something.

Use magic Report

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
2-12-2019 22:14:48 Mobile | Show all posts
There's first class availability next April.
BA Redemption Finder gives a decent overview of what's available and you can also set up alerts to notify you if availability changes.