Alexa or that Google speaker thing

[Copy link]

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
2-12-2019 23:07:44 Mobile | Show all posts |Read mode
Hiya everyone.
Newbie here so I am hoping that I have posted in the right place.

Has anyone got or had something like Alexa or that google home thing. The one where you talk to the speaker and it does what you tell it.

''Alexa play that song'' ''google whats the time''

that kind of thing. Does anyone have any recommendations and are they actually any good?

thanks for your help

Use magic Report

2-12-2019 23:07:45 Mobile | Show all posts
Welcome to the forums
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
2-12-2019 23:07:47 Mobile | Show all posts
Yep, we have both an Alexa and Google Home Mini.

Both do very similar things at a basic level and it's only really if you want it to control specific things that only work with one platform or the other that you need to worry. An example would be some TV brands etc.

Other than setting timers, playing music and asking it questions, was there anything specific you wanted it to do?

Use magic Report

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
2-12-2019 23:07:47 Mobile | Show all posts
Hi Dizby

We have had an Amazon Echo for a few years, we were in Curry’s a month back and they had a Google Home Hub on offer. Usually I’d never listen to a Curry’s salesperson but they had a tech guy from Google training the staff on hand.

He gave us a personal demo of what the Google could do, I dare say the Amazon Show has its own merits but we liked what we saw so we purchased the Google Home Hub.

Comparing the hub (with screen) to the Echo (no screen) is unfair but the Google recognises commands much better. Google Home has Youtube the Echo Show doesn’t as far as I’m aware, it might get it but Google and Amazon are always falling out so it could be here one minute gone the next.

What I love about Amazon Echo - Linking to Prime Music