View: 2039|Reply: 179

Anyone here collect 1st/1st signed editions?

[Copy link]

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
25-11-2019 04:20:52 Mobile | Show all posts |Read mode
I know this has been mentioned in some other threads, but I wondered how many people here collect 1st/1st/limited/signed editions?  

I'm just starting out down this route, but as I love books and love hardbacks I'm thinking...why not?

I must admit though, for me this is a bit of a minefield.  I'm not really looking to buy expensive books, although this may be impossible to avoid as initially I'm going to start collecting my favourite authors, such as Bernard Cornwell, Robin Hobb, Joe Abercrombie, Conn Iggulden etc etc.

What's so difficult to judge though, is how much some of these are worth?  e.g. I missed out on a Bernard Cornwell hardback on ebay which went for £5.50, but the same title is on buy-it-now with other sellers for up to £29.99   Bizarre...is this just luck of the draw?

I managed to win this today too:  Ian M Banks/ Signed First edition / Look to Windward / 2000 | eBay

£5 sounds really cheap for a 12 year old first edition from this author, and maybe it is, or maybe it isn't?  

If anyone could give any advice on collecting moderns it would be much appreciated

The other question I have is around dustjacket protection.  When you see photos of hardback collections they all look like they're shrink wrapped.  Can anyone suggest what I should buy (and where from) to protect these?  And how easy is it to cut/apply etc?

Finally, I was thinking of joining Goldsboro Books book club, has anyone else done this or done anything similar?  Some nice editions coming up on their website

Any advice, thoughts or comments would be appreciated.

Thanks

Use magic Report

25-11-2019 04:20:53 Mobile | Show all posts