When the going gets tough....

[Copy link]

Threads

Credits

Administrators

Credits
26-11-2019 01:45:30 Mobile | Show all posts |Read mode
Time to hand your uniform in.

PC Keith Palmer was let down by a police chief not brave enough to help save him

From my Facebook feed.

"Well - woke up this morning still fizzing about that useless senior officer who so disgraced the service.
So I have sent the following email to the Home Office and the Independent Office for Police Conduct. Whether it does any good is another matter, but I could not let this pass;
Sir Craig Mackey
"Sir,
I refer to the aforenamed person and the evidence he gave at the Old Bailey Inquest yesterday (8th inst).
As a retired Police Officer, I read the reports of this evidence with an increasing sense of disbelief, horror and disgust. I am not alone, according to various social media sites, in feeling that this officer has disgraced the uniform that I was so proud to wear.
There is no doubt that the incident in the grounds of Parliament was a fast moving, terrifying experience. A Police Officer encountering such circumstances has several options open to him/her when faced with danger of that level.
1. The Officer can utilise the vehicle they are in as a weapon.
2. The Officer can create distractions to confuse the attacker.
3. The Officer can wade in and stand with his colleagues in an effort to effect an arrest.
An option that is NOT available, is to lock the car doors and sit safely within, whilst watching a colleague being brutally murdered.
Every officer knows that the primary function of a Constable is to "Guard, Watch and Patrol and Protect Life and Property". When one takes the oath to begin one's service - it is perfectly clear that under the law you are a "Constable" irrespective of what rank insignia may be appended to the uniform.